Awards Ceremony Graphic

The Charles H. Bohlen, Jr. Technical Center in Watertown, NY recently held its annual awards ceremony virtually for graduating seniors that make up the Class of 2021. A total of 317 students were recognized for their accomplishments in the following programs: Architecture, Engineering & 3D Design; Auto Body; Automotive Technology; Building Projects; Carpentry; Cosmetology; Criminal Justice; Culinary Arts/Cooking; Culinary Arts Baking; Early Childhood Education; Electrical Wiring Technology; Electronic & Computer Technology; Heavy Equipment; Hospitality Services; Medical Assistant; Motorcycle, Marine & Power Sports; New Vision Health; Nursing Assistant; Plumbing/HVAC; Veterinary Practices; Visual Communications; and Welding

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s awards ceremony was recorded in video form by BOCES staff and placed online for students and families to view on demand. 

All graduating students will receive certificates for successfully completing their program requirements. One hundred seventy six students were recognized for earning Technical Endorsement, which is an emblem attached to their high school diploma that signifies superior achievement and recognition by New York State for completion of an approved Career & Technical Education program. 

Special scholarship awards from organizations and businesses were given as follows:

Black River Council of School Superintendents ($300 each):  Shane Rubyor (Criminal Justice I, Watertown)

Thomas Excavating, LLC Superior Work Ethic Award ($250 each): Ryley Jones (Heavy Equipment II, South Jefferson) & Thomas Slate (Heavy Equipment II, South Jefferson)

Northern New York Community Foundation Awards ($750 total) 

($500): Landon Shedrick (Criminal Justice II, South Jefferson)

($250): Simarra Willett (New Vision Health-Ms. Denny, Lyme) 

Charles H. Bohlen, Jr. Scholarship ($750): Ariel St. Croix (Early Childhood Education II, Watertown)

Cheney Tire-Motorcycle, Marine & Power Sports Award ($100): Ernest Brown (Motorcycle, Marine & Power Sports II, Thousand Islands)

Ruth Seal Memorial Nursing Scholarship ($750): Brayden Billman (Medical Assistant, Belleville Henderson)

Ryan D. Abel Memorial Scholarship ($250): Cyan Siebel (Visual Communications II, Carthage)

Logan Mannigan Memorial Scholarship ($200): Gregory VanBrocklin (Carpentry II, Indian River)

Sackets Harbor Ballroom Hospitality Services Award ($50): Gavin Barnett (Hospitality Services II, Sackets Harbor)

Pepe’s Parts Xpress Auto Body Award ($150): Caleb Smith (Auto Body II,Watertown)

Pepe's Parts Express Automotive Technology Award ($100): Matthew Wright (Automotive Tech. II, Indian River)

Pepe's Parts Express Heavy Equipment Award ($100): Graden Ratigliano (Heavy Equipment II, South Jefferson)

Waite Motor Sports-Motorcycle, Marine & Power Sports Award ($100): Kaden Howard (Motorcycle, Marine & Power Sports II, Carthage)

Patty O’Driscoll Memorial Scholarship ($250): Maria Clement (New Vision Health-Ms. Denny, Watertown)

Brian C. Thomas Memorial Scholarship ($250): Katelyn Decker (New Vision Health-Ms. Denny, Watertown)

Loose Leaf Law Excellence in Criminal Justice ($75): Gavin Gaines (Criminal Justice II, Indian River)

Richard (Butch) Coseo Memorial Scholarship ($100): Zachary Premo (Criminal Justice II, General Brown)

Kevin Fuhrken Memorial Scholarship ($100): Landon Shedrick (Criminal Justice II, South Jefferson)

Rivergate Wheelers Memorial Scholarship ($600):  Madison Raap (Culinary Arts, Indian River)

Frank Reed, Jr. Memorial-Motorcycle, Marine & Power Sports Scholarship ($100): Matthew Simmons, Motorcycle, Marine & Power Sports, LaFargeville)

Watertown Noon Rotary ($250 each): Joshua Biggs (Architecture, Engineering & 3D Design II, Belleville Henderson), Madison Raap (Culinary Arts, Indian River), Ashlyn Hilts (New Vision Health-Ms. Denny, Lyme), Katelyn Decker (New Vision Health-Ms. Denny, Watertown), & Christian Heyl (Visual Communications II, Lyme)

JLHHO Professional Teacher’s Association Award ($50 each): Landon Shedrick (Criminal Justice II, South Jefferson), Zachary Premo (Criminal Justice II, General Brown), Madison Raap (Culinary Arts, Indian River), Dalton Hudson (Electronic & Computer Tech., Belleville Henderson), & Hailey Hunt (New Vision Health-Ms. Denny, Watertown)