EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

health, safety and transportation


The Jefferson-Lewis BOCES Health, Safety & Transportation Department provides environmental and occupational safety guidance to school districts. We offer a comprehensive safety program dedicated to minimize hazards and unsafe practices. We assist districts in understanding, interpreting and complying with state and federal laws that pertain to schools. We are committed to providing the highest level of compliance and training. Click on the links below for the list of programs available.

Health

This program covers a range of topics from building investigations of health concerns to cardio pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and automatic external defibrillation (AED) to name a few. From year to year, new aspects of environmental or health issues cause this service to amendto fit the needs of our clients. The portions of this program are constantly changing with new things being added as warranted.Please check back on a regular basis for an updated listing.

Safety/Security

This program is the most generic heading with the greatest amount of services due to the nature of the subject. From asbestos to building security, from fire safety to environmental, chemical and physical hazard evaluations this portion of the service touches every aspect of the school building envelope. The health and safety staff with over forty (40) years of experience in the field brings a solid and unique perspective to our clients. This area changes due to the circumstances of regulatory compliance and client experiences.

Drug / Alcohol

This program assists our clients in complying with the Federal statutes pertaining to drug and alcohol testing of bus drivers and other personnel who may be holding a commercial driver’s license (CDL). We comply with all independent third-party requirements of the Federal Motor Carrier regulations, which include on-site sample collection, alcohol testing, laboratory analysis and the review when appropriate of a medical review officer. Recordkeeping for New York State and Federal programs are maintained and secured for each of our clients and their affected personnel.

Transportation

This program provides required trainings for all facets of school district transportation needs. The ease of a “one stop shop” is exemplified in this service, with basic and advanced programs for your drivers and other transportation staff readily available. Other non-mandated programs designed to enhance and protect both staff and students are offered.

For a full list of our programs, click here

Visit the Health, Safety & Transportation Department Resources page here

Contact Us

(315) 779-7050

Fred Hauck, Program Coordinator fhauck@boces.com

Linda Shaw, Assistant Health and Safety Coordinator lshaw@boces.com

Raymond Filley, Assistant Health and Safety Coordinator rfilley@boces.com

Charity Gregory, School Transportation Safety Officer cgregory@boces.com

Christine Bourquin, Secretary to the Health and Safety Coordinator cbourquin@boces.com

Andrew Krokowski, CDL Drug & Alcohol Program/CDL Training Instructor akrokowski@boces.com