• Jefferson-Lewis BOCES is proud to announce the winners of the 2017 Alumni of Distinction Awards. They are David Geer of Gouverneur and Scott Simmons of Copenhagen.

    David Geer is a 1989 graduate of Indian River Central School and graduated from the Auto Body and Collision Repair program at the Charles H. Bohlen, Jr. Technical Center in June 1993 as an Adult Education student. Geer is the current owner and operator of Northern Collision in Gouverneur. He remains a staunch supporter of the BOCES program. He was an instructor at the Howard. G. Sackett Technical Center in Glenfield for a four year period and currently offers internships at his business to automotive and welding students from St. Lawrence-Lewis BOCES.

    “I’m a big supporter of BOCES and its programs because of the benefits it gives students and the community,” says David. “I’m proud to be a BOCES alumnus.”

    David was presented the award during the Bohlen Technical Center Awards Day ceremony held on June 2, 2017 in Watertown.

    David Geer with award
    David Geer and Tracy Gyoerkoe, Director of Career, Technical, Adult & Continuing Education

    Scott Simmons is a 1997 graduate of Copenhagen Central School and of the Environmental Conservation/Forestry program at the Howard G. Sackett Technical Center in Glenfield. He is the current owner of Burrville Power Equipment as well as Copenhagen Carvers. He has lent his talents to a number of charitable organizations. 

    “BOCES has been good to me. When I began the Forestry program, I found my niche, working with saws and equipment,” says Scott. “BOCES in general is a good thing. It gives people real world training and prepares you for a career.” 

    Scott was presented the award during the Sackett Technical Center Awards Day ceremony held on June 8, 2017 in Turin. 

    Scott Simmons with award
    Scott Simmons

    In order to qualify, a candidate must have attended Career and Technical Education classes at Jefferson-Lewis BOCES. They must also have experienced career success, have been a positive role model, have contributed to community and society, and have gone above and beyond what is ordinary. 

    The 2016 winners were Robert Green (Class of 1977, Watertown) and Lisa Bain RN (Class of 1990, South Lewis). In 2015, Terry Groff (Class of 1980, Copenhagen), and Robert M. Olin, Jr. (Class of 1981, Watertown) were honored. In 2014, the winners were Jason Dunn (Class of 1991, Carthage) and Amy Baker (Class of 2000, Beaver River).